The lady at the LYS confirms that I am insane

I’ve fallen in love with the designs over at Woolly Thoughts. Specifically with this design. It’s called “Curve of Pursuit” and after many calculations and much obsessing, I have chosen to do it in Cascade 220.

I figure if it’s going to be this involved and I love the pattern this much, it’s worth doing it in decent yarn. Crap yarn has its place, but if I’m going to go crazy, I’d rather it not be with Red Heart. I had wanted to do this with Moda Dea’s Washable Wool, but it’s been discontinued and the only colors I can locate are not going to go together.

So I trundled down to my favorite LYS yesterday and the clerk asked me what I was making. I laughed and said it was an afghan and that my friends all think I’m nuts to try it. She very nicely said, “of course you’re not insane.” Then I showed her the pattern. She said, “You’re insane.” (But she remained helpful nonetheless).

In theory this is how it’s going to look (the lightest color is more ivory than it’s showing, but I had issues with the photo editing program).

That’s the theory anyhow. I have the yarn. I have the first square and the 4 triangles done. It will no doubt throw me into absolute agonies in the coming months, but I really want to do this.

Foreseeable problems:

  1. I’m going to be sick to death of garter stitch very very soon.
  2. This will not be the most portable project.
  3. There are going to be umpteen million ends to weave in.
  4. I will go mad.

My strategies to deal with these problems:

  1. I’m going to do a couple of shorter, instant gratification kinds of projects in between bouts of wrestling with the afghan.
  2. See #2.
  3. I’m going to weave in as I go.
  4. It’ll be worth it.
One response to “The lady at the LYS confirms that I am insane

  1. You are not insane!

    Re Strategy 1: I predict that you will not be able to put it down to do something else.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

